Seven Years of Everything Early Modern Women: Reflecting and a Call to Discussion

by Jessica C. Murphy

Dear Readers,

I began this blog as a graduate student at The University of California, Santa Barbara, in 2007. My main goal was to provide a place for people to look for CFPs and other announcements specifically related to the study of early modern women. It is now seven years later, and the postings are becoming more sporadic. This has partially to do with the busy life of a junior faculty member (me), but I think it might also have to do with a decrease in at least CFPs on this topic.

Coming up very shortly is the 25th Anniversary Attending to Early Modern Women conference (http://www4.uwm.edu/letsci/conferences/atw2015/) , and I think now is a good time to remind ourselves why we started studying early modern women in the first place and ask ourselves where we should go next. I would like to therefore use this space to open up a conversation. Please tell us what you would most like to see here on “Everything Early Modern Women,” tell us where you think our field is headed, and perhaps point us to other resources that I could be looking to for announcements.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards, Jessica

